Scientific Planning Committee

Dr. Jaime Yu

President, CAPMR

Dr Jaime Yu is a physiatrist and associate professor at the University of Alberta in Edmonton, AB. She completed her PM&R training at the University of Calgary, and started her early career as a general community physiatrist in Kelowna, BC. Her clinical practice is focused in stroke rehabilitation and spasticity, and her academic focus is in medical education with several leadership roles at the undergradute and postgraduate levels. She is one of the course directors of the Canadian Comprehensive Review Course in PM&R and has served on the CAPM&R board of directors since 2018.

Dr. Paul Winston

Annual Meeting Chair

Past President. Paul is based far on the other coast in Victoria BC and hosted his first CAPMR in 2011. He is a full time clinician and researcher. He graduated from Western for medical School and U of T for residency. He is a co Founder of CANOSC. He is a strong believer that movement is medicine.

Dr. Larry Robinson

Past-President & ISPRM 2026 Chair

Dr. Larry Robinson serves as Professor and Chief of the Division of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (PM&R) at the University of Toronto. Dr. Robinson is based at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre where he serves as Program Chief. He also holds the John and Sally Eaton Chair in Rehabilitation Sciences and is the President of the Canadian Association of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. Dr. Robinson has published extensively on rehabilitation and electrodiagnosis with >200 publications in peer-reviewed literature. He has recently served as is the President of the Canadian Association of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and chief examiner for the EMG section of the Canadian Society of Clinical Neurophysiology. He developed a method for diagnosis of carpal tunnel syndrome known as the Combined Sensory Index (he prefers the name "Robinson Index"). In 2017 he received the lifetime achievement award from the American Association of Electrodiagnostic and Neuromuscular Medicine (AANEM). He is will serve as chair of the 2026 ISPRM Congress in Vancouver.

Dr.Chantel Debert

Research Committee ChairYear:2024

Dr. Chantel T. Debert is an academic physiatrist. She completed her residency training in physical medicine and rehabilitation at the University of Calgary. Dr. Debert is a Associate Professor in the Department of Clinical Neurosciences, in the division of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, at the University of Calgary, and a member of the Hotchkiss Brain Institute (HBI). She is a physician lead for the research program for the Calgary Brain Injury Program and the Integrative concussion Research representative for the HBI BMH concussion neuroteam. Clinically, she sees sport-related concussion, mild, moderate and severe brain injury patients in the both the outpatient and inpatient setting. Dr. Debert's research interests include outcomes in concussion and traumatic brain injury, and appropriate treatment for persistent symptoms following TBI. Specifically, she is interested in diagnostic and prognostic biomarkers, transcranial magnetic stimulation treatment and rehabilitation treatments for patients suffering with traumatic brain injury.

Dr. Ricardo Viana

Education Committee Chair

Dr. Ricardo Viana is an academic Physiatrist. He is an associate professor at Western University in London, Ontario. He completed his PM&R training at Western University. Clinically his focus is on Stroke and Amputee Rehabilitation with corresponding outpatient clinics as well as EMG and MSK/Pain outpatient clinics. Ricardo is currently serving as the Medical Director of the Stroke Rehabilitation Program at Parkwood Institute -St. Joseph's Health Care, London. Ricardo's research spans Stroke and Amputee Rehabilitation as well as Medical Education and Burnout. Ricardo is the current lead of the CAPM&R Education & Continuing Professional Development Committee and is the Chair of the London PM&R Competence Committee, and CBME Representative.

Dr. Ranita Manocha

President-Elect, CAPM&R

Dr. Ranita Manocha is a physician-scientist in the Division of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation at the Cumming School of Medicine and the Faculty of Kinesiology at the University of Calgary. She received her BA in Cross-Disciplinary Studies at Western University in 2008 and her MD at the University of British Columbia in 2012. Dr. Manocha completed specialty training in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and the Clinician Investigator Program at Western University (2018), during which she obtained an MSc in Medical Biophysics. Dr. Manocha specializes in connective tissue disorder rehabilitation, neurophysiological diagnostic testing, and bracing and wheelchair seating.

Dr. Jehane Dagher

Scienfitic Planning Committee Chair

Dr. Jehane Dagher serves as an Associate Professor at the University of Montreal. Dr. Dagher is a physiatrist based at the Montreal Rehab Institute where she is the Traumatic Brain Injury Program Chief. She is actively involved in teaching residents and medical students. She is a consultant on the Neurosurgical Trauma ward at the Montreal General Hospital, McGill University. Dr. Dagher publishes on TBI rehabilitation, epidemiology & outcomes. She presents at national and international conferences. To educate the public about concussion prevention, she is often called by journalists for interviews on radio & television.

Dr. Joelle Machaalani

Resident Committee Member

Dr. Laurie-Anne Duquette

Resident Committee Member